Week One (getting started)

So it has been an exciting first week of business. I have been frustrated, happy, worried, anxious, and pretty much every other emotion you can think of each day of this week. It started with filing for our DBA. I had to pick out a Doing Business As name and file it with the state. We filed it through legalzoom.com and it was approved, we are now just waiting on the official paperwork in the mail. Next I had to get my EIN (Employer Identification Number). It was surprisingly easy, just had to go to the IRS website and fill out a form and got the number instantly. Then I called a few insurance companies and purchased my general liability and workers comp insurance. I set up all of my Price sheets, Estimate sheets, Invoice sheets, and Receipts. The next day I purchased my business logo, website domain, website design template, business cards, a lawn sign with logo and phone number on it, and a couple of T-shirts with the logo on them. Only took a few days and I received all of that in the mail. Needless to say it has been a very busy week. Spent the next few days designing the website and getting it up and running. Created all the social media pages, Facebook page, Twitter count, Instagram account, and Google plus account. Also created a business email address. I received 92 likes on my Facebook business page in week one by just inviting anyone and everyone i know and am friends with!! The next step was to advertise my business. I put ads on Craigslist, Angies List, Facebook online yard sales pages, just anywhere i could think to do so. I am currently trying to figure out how to get my website on all the search engines out there, and how to make it show up high on the list when people search for painters. Also working on getting customers I have worked for in the past to leave me reviews on my business page. I have sub contracted jobs for over 20 years so i have completed quite a few jobs. I am currently subbing work from two different businesses, owned by two longtime friends of mine; Porters Pro Painting, and Weston Premier Painting, until I can get enough jobs booked. I have bid and booked my first job painting a town home for next month!!! It is so relieving to actually have my first job with my very own business!!! I am going next week to bid a few jobs that i found on the Facebook online yard sale sites of all places! So i would say that for week one of finally deciding to branch out and start my own business, that I am very hopeful and that it has been one wild ride. That is it for week one, wow that was a lot of  To Do lists! I didn’t realize until now just how much was accomplished in a weeks time!  I will be back at the end of week two with I’m sure plenty of more interesting details on the new business. Can I just say a big shout out to my wife who has put in hours of administration work and completing anything that has to do with using the computer!!! You know that saying “it takes a village to raise a kid”, well if takes a village to raise a business! My whole family has helped in some way or the other!!  You can check out my website at http://www.paintingachievedinnotime.com

One thought on “Week One (getting started)

Leave a Reply

